Oh, You are Beautiful

Kinjal Patel
2 min readMay 27, 2021

--

Image Source: www.unsplash.com

“Oh you are beautiful”, I said to myself
Without slapping an inch of makeup. “You look beautiful”, I said to myself
With a face that even I took time to recognize.

“No one can look as beautiful as you”,
I said to myself tilting the face sideways.
Stretching my hand as high as I could to get a perfect angle.

“You, you have the perfect body”, I said to myself sliding right to the option of slim.
“Look at your flawless skin, dazzling”, I said to myself selecting the beauty pro option.

With just a few more selections and taps, I had transformed in no time,
But it's not as capturing as the previous I thought.
So my hand went in every direction for capturing the perfect angle.

Like Harmonie's wand, I gave another swish, actually a lot more swishes.
Taking more time than I adored myself for real, a sense of bogus satisfaction drenched me with the hocus pocus almost to end.

I fixed my eyes nervously on the screen as the snap took its time to flaunt.
And within a minute I felt my thirst-quenching with replies poring in. “Oh you are glowing”, “Beauty personified’, “Wow!! Stunning”.

Of course, I thought with a smirk.
But somehow, my heart nodded in disappointment.
Using the ‘silent filter’, on it I repeated
“Yes you are a fool, no I mean beautiful, just beautiful”.

--

--

Kinjal Patel

Just a simple wandering soul expressing her breezy thoughts in hope to touch a few other souls along the way.